
 

 

Protect Pain Capable Unborn Children  

from the Violence of Abortion 
         

     Mr. SMITH of New Jersey. Two years 

ago today, Pennsylvania abortion doctor 

Kermit Gosnell was convicted of murder, 

conspiracy to kill and involuntary 

manslaughter and sentenced to life 

imprisonment.  

 

     Even though the news of Gosnell’s child 

slaughter was largely suppressed by the 

mainstream media, many of my colleagues 

may remember that Dr. Gosnell operated a 

large Philadelphia abortion clinic where 

women died and countless babies were 

dismembered or chemically destroyed often 

by having their spinal cords snipped—all 

gruesome procedures causing excruciating 

pain to the victim.  

 

     Today, the House considers landmark 

legislation authored by Trent Franks to 

protect unborn children beginning at the age 

of 20 weeks post fertilization from pain-

filled abortions.  

  

     The Pain Capable Unborn Child 

Protection Act is needed now more than 

ever because there are Gosnells all over 

America, dismembering and decapitating 

pain-capable babies for profit: 

 

 Men like Steven Brigham of New 

Jersey, an interstate abortion 

operator—35 aborted babies were 

found in his freezer.  

 

 Men like Leroy Carhart, caught on 

video tape joking about his abortion 

toolkit—complete with a “pickaxe” 

and “drill bit”—while describing a 

three day long late term abortion 

procedure and the infant victim as 

“putting meat in a crock pot.”  

 

 Or like Deborah Edge who wrote in 

an op-ed that she “saw the 

abortionist puncture the soft spot in 

the baby’s head or snip his neck if it 

was delivered alive.” 

 

     Some euphemistically call this choice, 

but, a growing number of Americans rightly 

regard it as violence against children. And 

huge majorities—60% according to 

November 2014 Quinnipiac poll—want it 

stopped! 

 

     Fresh impetus for the bill came from a 

huge study of nearly 5,000 babies—

preemies—published last week in the New 

England Journal of Medicine. The next day, 

a New York Times article titled: “Premature 

Babies May Survive at 22 Weeks if Treated” 

touted the Journal’s extraordinary findings 

of survival and hope. (Let me note that these 



 

 

22 week old children referred to in the 

Times articles are the same age as the 20 

week children that will be protected by this 

bill. The only difference is the method used 

to calculate age.) 

  

     Just imagine, Madame Speaker, preemies 

at 20 weeks are surviving as technology and 

medical science advance. And some like 

Alexis Hutchinson, featured in the New 

York Times story is today a healthy 5 year 

old who originally weighed in at a mere 1.1 

pounds.  

 

     Thus the babies we seek to protect from 

harm today may survive if treated humanely, 

with expertise and compassion—not the 

cruelty of the abortion.  

 

     That is why, H.R. 36 requires that a late 

abortion permitted under limited 

circumstances provide the “best opportunity 

for the unborn child to survive” and that “a 

second physician trained in neonatal 

resuscitation” be “present and prepared to 

provide care to a child” consistent with the 

Born-Alive Infants Protection Act of 2002.  

 

     The Pain-Capable Unborn Child 

Protection Act recognizes the medical 

evidence that unborn children feel pain. 

 

     One leading expert in the field of fetal 

pain, Dr. Anand, at the University of 

Tennessee stated in his expert report, 

commissioned by the U.S. Department of 

Justice: “It is my opinion that the human 

fetus possesses the ability to experience pain 

from 20 weeks of gestation, if not earlier, 

and the pain perceived by a fetus is possibly 

more intense than that perceived by term 

newborns or older children.” 

 

     Surgeons today entering the womb to 

perform corrective procedures on unborn 

children have seen those babies flinch, jerk, 

and recoil from sharp objects and incisions.  

 

     Surgeons routinely administer anesthesia 

to unborn children in the womb. We now 

know that the child ought to be treated as a 

patient, and there are many anomalies, many 

sicknesses that can be treated while the child 

is still in utero. When those interventions are 

done, anesthesia is given.  

 

     Dr. Colleen Malloy, assistant professor, 

Division of Neonatology at the 

Northwestern University, in her testimony 

before the House Judiciary Committee said: 

“When we speak of infants at 20 weeks 

post-fertilization we no longer have to rely 

on inferences or ultrasound imagery, 

because such premature patients are kicking, 

moving and reacting and developing right 

before our eyes in the neonatal intensive 

care unit.” 

 

     Dr. Malloy went on to say, “in today’s 

medical arena, we resuscitate patients at this 

age and are able to witness their ex-utero 

growth.” She says “I could never imagine 

subjecting my tiny patients to horrific 

procedures such as those that involve limb 

detachment or cardiac injection” 

 

     Other provisions in H.R. 36 include: 

 

 An Informed Consent Form 

including the age of the child; a 

description of the law; an 

explanation that if the baby is born-

alive, he or she will be given medical 

assistance and transported to a 

hospital; and information about the 

woman’s right to sue if these 

protections are not followed.  

Women deserve this information. 

 

 The woman is empowered with a 

Civil Right of Action, so she may 



 

 

sue abortion providers who fail to 

comply with the law. Parents are also 

given a civil right of action if the law 

is not followed with regard to their 

minor daughter.  

 

 In the case of a minor who is 

pregnant as a result of rape or incest 

and is having an abortion at 20 

weeks or later, the abortion provider 

must notify either social services, or 

law enforcement to ensure the safety 

of the child and stop any ongoing 

abuse.  

 

 In the case of an adult who is 

pregnant as a result of a sexual 

assault and is having an abortion at 

20 weeks or later, the provider must 

ensure that she has received medical 

treatment or counseling at least 48 

hours prior to the abortion.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Compliance with State Laws 
including parental involvement 

requirements, and state reporting 

requirements is required.  

 

 The National Center for Health 

Statistics will issue an Annual 

Statistical Report (without 

personally identifying information) 

providing statistical information 

about abortions carried out after 20 

weeks post-fertilization age. 

 

     Finally, pain, we all dread it. We avoid it. 

We even fear it. And we all go to 

extraordinary lengths to mitigate its severity 

and its duration.  

     Today, there are Kermit Gosnells all over 

America inflicting not only violence, 

cruelty, and death on very young children, 

but excruciating pain as well. This 

legislation protects an entire age specific 

class of kids from preventable pain—and 

death.  


