Defining the Vision. Shaping the Future.



April 20, 2021

The Honorable Chris Smith 2373 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representative Smith:

I am writing regarding the proposed inclusion of funding for the Ocean County's County Route 539 (CR 539) Overpass project in the next surface transportation reauthorization legislation.

As the Metropolitan Planning Organization for northern and central New Jersey, the North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority (NJTPA) oversees the region's Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). It is our understanding that the House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee requires assurance that any projects funded through the reauthorization legislation that are not currently in the TIP can and will be added to it. This letter serves to provide that assurance.

It is our understanding that the proposed project would create an overpass that will benefit Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, America's only Army-Navy-Air Force installation. The overpass would provide military vehicles with a much safer and more efficient connection to thousands of acres of base property on the east side of CR 539, allowing the military to expand and protect its vital national mission at this major training site for Army Reserve and National Guard forces, while also improving safety for travelers on CR 539 and New Jersey Route 70, two of the heaviest-traveled roads for Jersey Shore-bound traffic from the Philadelphia and Trenton areas.

This project is fully consistent with *Plan 2045: Connecting North Jersey*, the current long-range plan for the NJTPA region. *Plan 2045* encourages investing federal transportation funds to improve safety and to strengthen economic activity and tourism.

Given this project's consistency with our long-range plan, the NJTPA would be able to add it to the Transportation Improvement Program in a reasonable timeframe should it receive federal funding.

Thank you for your ongoing support of federal transportation investment in the NJTPA region.

Sincerely,

Mary D. amee

Mary D. Ameen Executive Director

Kathryn A. DeFillippo, Chair Mary D. Ameen, Executive Director